Artists | DJ Olive (US)

Artist’s website:

DJ Olive appears in:

DJ Olive (born 1961 as Gregor Asch in Boston, USA) is an American disc jockey and turntablist.
He is known for producing music generally in the electronic genre, with strong influences of dub, and free improvisation styles.
After receiving a Bachelor of Fine Arts from SUNY Purchase, Gregor Asch moved to Brooklyn in 1990 and co-founded Lalalandia Entertainment Research Corporation. Lalalandia made many of the most memorable Brooklyn warehouse after hours environments of the 1990s. During this time he started making music as Dj Olive. He created Multipolyomni and We and is also a member of Lunchbox and Liminal.
He has also been working on a concept he calls ”The Vinyl Score” since 1995, which are palettes of sound pressed on vinyl and then played with ’rules’ by turntablalists. He has continued building installations, making sound art and participated in many exhibitions including: The Whitney Biennial, Venice Biennale a.o.
DJ Olive has performed with: Rich ”Lloop” Panciera, Ignacio ”Once11” Platas, Carolyn ”Honeychild” Coleman, Luc Ferrari, Marc Ribot, William Hooker, Christian Marclay, Kim Gordon, Christian Fennesz, Otomo Yoshihide, Derek Bailey, Charles Gayle, Steve Shelly, Ikue Mori, Jim O’Rourke, Cyro Baptista, Cornel Rochester, Ralph Peterson, Drew Gress, Mark Feldman, Yuka Honda, Don Byron, Eugene Chadbourne, Micheal Formenek, Tim Barnes, Bavid Binney, Ralph Alessi, Alan Vega, David Moss, Khan & Walker, Elliott Sharp, Glenn Spearmen, William Winant, Ulricht Kriegler, Nuno Rebelo, Riina Saastamoinen, Fred Vaillant, John Zorn, Thurston Moore, Sylvie Courvoisier, Jim Black, Zeena Parkins, Toshio Kajiwara, o.blaat, Danny Bloom, Raz Mesinai, Marina Rosenfeld, Alan Licht, Chris Brown, Zach Danziger, Gala Drop, Dave Douglas, Mats Gustafsson, Shelley Hirsch, Soulslinger, Tom Surgal, Han Bennink, Massimo Zu, Eyvind Kang, David Gillmore, Barbara Walker, Ernaldo Bernocchi, Jamie Saft, John Medeski, Billy Martin, Chris Wood, Min Xiao-Fen, Scotty Hard, Jah Wobble, Toshinori Kondo, Mike Watt, Brad Jones, Mat Hiemovitz, Lee Ranaldo, Aki Onda. Phillip Jeck, DJ Grasshopper, Dennis Delzotto, Uri Caine, Erik M, Joke ”Suddeninfant” Lanz, Martin Baumgartner, QPE, Bruno Amstad, Ben Perowsky, Hanzel Gretzel, Gerard Malanga, Matt Pass, Okkuyng Lee, Bobby Previte, Charlie Hunter and many others.