Artists | Maja Ratkje (NO)

Artist’s website:

Maja Ratkje appears in:
Maja Ratkje is or was a member of:

Maja Solveig Kjelstrup Ratkje (born 1973 in Trondheim, Norway) is a Norwegian vocalist, musician and composer.
Ratkje studied from 1995 to 2000 composition at the Norwegian Academy of Music.
She plays theremin, laptop and violin. Together with Hild Sofie Tafjord, Kristin Andersen and Lene Grenager she formed the group SPUNK. Together with Hild Sofie Tafjord she made the noise duo Fe-mail.
Ratkje has composed an opera, symphonic and chamber music, as well as music for dance, theater, installations, film and literature. She has made music for a radio play by Elfriede Jelinek, and in 2003, she played a part in her own opera, based on the texts from the Nag Hammadi Library. She has been soloist her own work with orchestras such as The Norwegian Radio Orchestra, Klangforum Wien, Avanti! Chamber Orchestra and BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra. She has worked with Jaap Blonk, Lasse Marhaug, Joëlle Léandre, Per Inge Bjørlo, Stephen O’Malley, Jazzkammer, Poing, Ikue Mori and Zeena Parkins (in Phantom Orchard Orchestra).
Ratkje was awarded the International Rostrum of Composers in Paris, the Norwegian Edvard prize (twice) and in 2001 she was the first composer to receive the Norwegian Arne Nordheim prize.