Artists | John Zorn’s Cobra (US/JP/NO/AT/UK/AU/DE)

Koichi Makigami – prompter
Maja Ratkje – voice, electronics
Zeena Parkins – electric harp, electronics
Sylvie Courvoisier – piano
Ikue Mori – laptop
Fred Frith – guitar
Kazuhisa Uchihashi – guitar
David Watson – guitar
Arnold ‘Noid’ Haberl – cello
Okkyung Lee – cello
Shayna Dunkelman – percussion
Tony Buck – drums
Chris Cutler – drums

John Zorn’s Cobra appears in:

John Zorn’s Cobra is a game piece composed by John Zorn in 1984 for some improvisers and a prompter. Since then it has been performed in different places with many different musicians. The composition consists of a set of cues notated on cards, and rules corresponding to the cues that direct the players what to do. The number of players, instrumentation, and length of the piece is indeterminate. Because there is no traditional musical notation and the players improvise, the piece may sound radically different from performance to performance.